What’s Left Of Us

And then it came to an end
An era it had seemed,
An age had passed us by
While we were together,
We had aged also though we felt it not
Because time stood still
When my hand was in yours.
Ordinary in real life
I was beautiful, I was magic
For your eyes only
That is how I saw myself,
Cherished.
And so life played it’s card
And we paid the price
Gladly we will pay it again
My heart on the counter,
Bleeding and beating,
Branded with your name on it
No one wants it now, it wants no one else.
And so it was the sweetest goodbye,
A poison welcome only from your lips,
Coping. Thinking. Learning. Mending.
That’s me, that’s you, what’s left of us.

One thought on “What’s Left Of Us

Leave a Reply

